Jack Straw Writers Program

The Jack Straw Writers Program was created in 1997 to introduce local writers to the medium of recorded audio, to develop their presentation skills for both live and recorded readings, to encourage the creation of new literary work, and to provide new venues for the writers and their work.

The 2015 Jack Straw Writers / 2015 Writers Events

Each year twelve writers/writing teams are selected by a curator out of dozens of applicants, based on artistic excellence, diversity of literary genres, and a cohesive grouping of writers. The program features voice and presentation training, in-studio interviews, public readings, a published anthology, and podcasts. Live readings are recorded, and selected portions are produced for podcasts and radio broadcast.

To date, the Jack Straw Writers Program has included more than 200 Pacific Northwest writers who represent a diverse range of literary genres. Writers Program participants have included novelist Harold Taw (2011), poet Rebecca Hoogs (2008), legendary Litmus Inc. founder Charles Potts (2007), Seattle Poet Populist Jourdan Imani Keith (2006), Stranger Genius Award recipient for poetry John Olson (2004), Kathleen Flenniken (2002), Floating Bridge Press founder Peter Pereira (2001), Writers In The Schools founder Kip Robinson-Greenthal (2000), and humorist David Schmader (1998).

Top row and first image on bottom row: 2009-2014 Jack Straw Writers reading, writing, and recording at Jack Straw Cultural Center (photos by Sherwin Eng); rest of bottom row: 2012 Jack Straw Writers at the Royal Room with the Bushwick Book Club Seattle (photos by Melissa Thompson)

2015 Jack Straw Writers Program

The 2015 Jack Straw Writers, selected by Curator Kevin Craft, are Linda Andrews, Emily Bedard, Laura Da', Bernard Grant, Clare Johnson, Martha Kreiner, Erin Malone, Ross McMeekin, L. J. Morin, Matthew Schnirman, Anca Szilagyi, and Jeanine Walker.

Special thanks to the donors who supported our power2give campaign to support the 2015 Writers Program: Linda Breneman, John Burgess, Dominic CodyKramers, Erin Craver, Peter Davenport, Kathleen de Gutes, Kathleen Flenniken, David Giannini, Felicia Gonzalez, Esther Helfgott, Joan Hsiao, Kathy Lindenmayer, John Mullen, Bruce Oberg, and Margaret Sturdivant.

2015 Writers Program Curator Kevin Craft is the editor of Poetry Northwest. His books include Solar Prominence (Cloudbank Books, 2005), and five volumes of the anthology Mare Nostrum, an annual collection of Italian translation and Mediterranean-inspired writing. His poems, reviews, and essays have appeared widely in such places as Poetry, AGNI, Verse, Ninth Letter, Alaska Quarterly Review, Southwest Review, The Stranger, and West Branch. A 2008 Jack Straw Writer, he has also been awarded fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Bogliasco Foundation (Italy), the Camargo Foundation (France), 4Culture, and Artist Trust.


Jack Straw Cultural Center gratefully acknowledges Seattle Office of Arts and Culture, 4Culture King County Lodging Tax Fund, Washington State Arts Commission, National Endowment for the Arts, ArtsFund, and individual contributors for their support of the Jack Straw Writers Program.

Copyright 2014 Jack Straw Productions ~ All rights reserved

About the podcasts

Jack Straw Cultural Center produces bi-monthly podcasts featuring excerpts from live readings and interviews highlighting literary artists from the Jack Straw Writers Program.

Previous Jack Straw Writers Program

2014 Writers
2012 Writers
2011 Writers

2009 Writers
2008 Writers
2007 Writers
2006 Writers
2005 Writers
2004 Writers
List of writers to date

Jack Straw Writers Program Events

May 1, 8, and 15
Jack Straw 2015 May Reading Series
Jack Straw Cultural Center